Welcome Back Marine Band Alumni!
July 14-16, 2020

RSVP Deadline to perform: May 15
RSVP Deadline for the reception: July 3

We are looking forward to reconnecting with you! The event is open to anyone who served in the "The President's Own," no matter how long. If you were a playing member, you are invited to perform in the Alumni Band or Alumni Chamber Orchestra. If you do not wish to perform, we encourage you to still take part in the rehearsal, concert, reception, and the tours we have planned for the week.

Step 1: Complete the RSVP Form (posted in the panel on the right).

Performers: The first rehearsals for the Alumni Band and Orchestra will be on Tuesday, July 14. Two band concerts of the same program will be held on Wednesday and Thursday at the U.S. Capitol and one concert for the orchestra will be held at the National Museum of the Marine Corps on Thursday July 16. You must use your own instrument. If participation is high in your section, we will rotate players. Music will be provided via e-mail from the Marine Band Library. The program will be conducted by Col. Bourgeois, Col. Colburn, and Maj. Burian. Attire for the concerts will be black pants and a white collared shirt. Music will be emailed the week of June 15th.

Reception/Picnic: This year the party will be held on the Annex field. It will be a catered, sit-down event under a tent. Price will not exceed $30 per person. Payment details will be emailed closer to the event.   

Courtyard Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Hampton Inn Navy Yard
Residence Inn Navy Yard
Homewood Suites Navy Yard
Thompson Washington, D.C.
Capitol Skyline 

Directions to Marine Barracks Annex, click here.


 Tuesday, July 14 Wednesday, July 15 Thursday, July 16 

Check in at the Annex.
Barracks Tours

Orchestra rehearsal in Sousa Hall

Band rehearsal in Sousa Hall


Reception/Picnic on Annex Field. 

Rehearsals for both band and orchestra

Concert at the U.S. Capitol, West Terrace 

Depart for tour of National
Museum of the Marine Corps
in Triangle, Va.
Transportation provided from the Annex 

‚ÄčMarine Chamber Orchestra Concert 

Concert at the U.S. Capitol,
West Terrace 






Questions? Contact Amanda Simmons at (202) 433-5814 or amanda.simmons@usmc.mil

*John Bourgeois (1958-96) (also French horn/arranger)
*Michael Colburn (1987-2014) (also euphonium)

Assistant Director
*Dennis Burian (1969-2001) (also clarinet)

Executive Assistant to the Director

John Barclay (1988-2018)
(also B-Flat and E-flat clarinet, operations, Drum Major) 

Operations Officer
William Perry (1984-2013) (also Admin)

*Gail Gillespie (1979-2009)

Oboe/English Horn
*Dorothy Darlington (1981-87)
*Ken Watson (1974-76)

*Stephen Lowe (1976-89)
*Jerry Rodgers (19667-88)

Bass Clarinet
*Barb Haney (1983-2006)

*Michael Galloway (1968-72)
*Bruce Gittinger (1971-91)
*Neil Holliker (1964-68)
*James May (1968-75)
*Andy Schuller (1986-2016)
Roger Stone (1968-72)

French horn
*Ricardo Hernandez (1982-92)
*Jeff Johnson (1974-80)
William Kuyper (1961-65)

*Phil Franke (1981-2012)
*Loren Marsteller

Tom Holtz (1991-2012)
Ron Munson (1966-70)

*Jeffrey Gilliam (1977-97)

*Michael Ryan (1970-2000)

*Sue Franke (1981-2005) 

Public Affairs
Jim Arnold (1995-98)

Stage Crew
Earl Hurrey (1980-97)