Unit HomeNews
"The President's Own"


"The President's Own"

United States Marine Band

Colonel Jason K. Fettig, Director
Unit News
2016 Chamber Music Series Begins

By Staff Sgt. Rachel Ghadiali | 10th Marine Regiment | January 15, 2016


**UPDATE JAN. 21, 2016:  This concert has been canceled due to impending inclement weather.**

“The President’s Own” 2016 Chamber Music Series begins at 2 p.m. this Sunday, Jan. 24, with a concert featuring euphonium and tubas, strings, and other brass throughout. Coordinated by trumpeter/cornetist Staff Sgt. James McClarty, the performance will take place in John Philip Sousa Band Hall at the Marine Barracks Annex in southeast Washington, D.C. The concert is free and no tickets are required. Free parking is also available under the overpass on 7th
Street across from the annex. The concert will also stream live beginning at 2 p.m. (EST) on the Marine Band website www.marineband.marines.mil.

“I wanted to do a program of all modern music from the 20th century to current,” McClarty said. “Lovers of 20th century and Romantic music should be entertained as there are elements of both. And brass and string lovers will be pleased, as many of the ensembles on the program are comprised of brass and strings.”

The concert will begin with the world première of Overture for Euphoniums and Tubas, commissioned in 2015 by Marine Band euphonium player Staff Sgt. Hiram Diaz and composed by Marine Band clarinetist Staff Sgt. Parker Gaims.

“When I first heard the Marine Band ensemble read the piece, I thought it sounded beautiful,” Gaims said. “The euphonium/tuba ensemble has the rich expressivity of the lower range of a pipe organ and the characteristic brilliance and clarity of brass instruments. I love the sonority of all the euphoniums and tubas. And although it is only about six minutes long, the audience will appreciate the short romantic overture’s variety of moods.”

The first half of the concert will continue with Benjamin Frankel’s String Quartet No. 1, Opus 14, and Camille Saint-Saëns’ Caprice on Danish and Russian Airs, Opus 79. “While the Saint-Saëns’ is not a 20th century piece, its late Romantic style pairs nicely with the Gaims romantically styled overture and it showcases the woodwinds very nicely,” McClarty said.

The second half of the program includes a brass ensemble performing James Pugh’s And Flights of Angels…; Eric Ewazen’s Trio for Trumpet, Violin, and Piano; and Chick Corea’s Part 1 (Overture) from Lyric Suite for Sextet.

“While I was looking for a piece to showcase the percussion, I came across the Corea piece with vibraphone,” McClarty explained. “I love how the jazz style is a fun contrast with the other pieces, and it almost feels like an encore so it is a fun way to end the program.”

Complete program and program notes

Directions and parking information

Unit News Search