Unit HomeNews
"The President's Own"


"The President's Own"

United States Marine Band

Colonel Jason K. Fettig, Director
Unit News
Summer Fare on the Capitol Terrace

By Staff Sgt. Brian Rust | United States Marine Band | June 8, 2015

The Marine Band will once again fill the night air with the sounds of patriotic marches, orchestral transcriptions, and light popular classics during this week's Summer Fare performances at 8 p.m., June 10 and 11, on the west terrace of the U.S. Capitol. Both concerts are free, open to the public, and no tickets are required. Patrons are encouraged to bring folding chairs or blankets to sit on as there is no seating available on the Capitol steps.

Conducted by Assistant Director 1st Lt. Ryan J. Nowlin, an Ohio native, the concert will aptly begin with Henry Fillmore's march, "Men of Ohio," dedicated to native Ohioan President Warren G. Harding in 1921, the year of his inauguration. The performance will continue with James Barnes' Symphonic Overture, Opus 80, followed by trumpet soloist Master Gunnery Sgt. Andrew Schuller performing Herman Bellstedt's Carmen Fantasy, transcribed by former Marine Band Chief Arranger Master Sgt. Stephen Bulla, USMC (ret.). The fantasy provides the soloist the opportunity to embrace the popular melodies of Carmen and showcase his lyricism and virtuosity. The piece includes the seductive Habanera theme, as well as several other favorite melodies from the popular opera.

After the trumpet solo, Nowlin will turn the baton over to co-principal oboe Staff Sgt. Trevor Mowry to conduct three pieces. Mowry is a participant in the Marine Band's Conductor Training Program, an initiative that allows members of the organization to work closely with the Directors over the course of a year to receive conductor training and to have the opportunity to lead the band in concert. Mowry will conduct Gustav Holst's "Jupiter" from his very popular suite The Planets, Opus 32 and John Philip Sousa's well-known march, "The Liberty Bell." Also, Mowry will conduct two selections - "Stormy Weather" and "That Old Black Magic" - from Nowlin's own arrangement of several World War II era hits, featuring mezzo-soprano soloist Gunnery Sgt. Sara Dell'Omo.

The concert will then conclude with Kenneth Singleton's transcription of Dmitri Shostakovich's Concertino, Opus 94. Originally written for two pianos the year after Josef Stalin's death, the Concertino begins with two contrasting motives: one ominous, the other calm and hymnal. After the serious introduction, the music becomes light-hearted and dance-like, perhaps reflecting a bit of the optimism Shostakovich felt after Stalin's death and the end of his oppressive regime.

Parking for the Capitol concerts is limited, but the venue is Metro accessible via the orange, blue, and silver lines at the Capitol South station.

Complete Program and Notes


Unit News Search