Unit HomeNews
"The President's Own"


"The President's Own"

United States Marine Band

Colonel Jason K. Fettig, Director
Unit News
Music of Hope and Faith

By Staff Sgt. Brian Rust | United States Marine Band | February 25, 2015


The Chamber Music Series concert at 2 p.m. (EST) this Sunday, March 1, will feature an eclectic mix of music by various ensembles made up of members of “The President’s Own.” From harp solos to wind octet with percussion and trombone octet to clarinet, violin, cello, and piano quartet, the concert will offer selections that were influenced by each composer’s beliefs or understanding of the divine. The performance is free – no tickets are required – and will take place in the John Philip Sousa Band Hall at the Marine Barracks Annex in southeast Washington, D.C. Free parking is available. The concert will also stream live at www.marineband.marines.mil and www.youtube.com/usmarineband.

Coordinator bass trombonist Master Sgt. Karl Johnson organized the program with some of the most beautiful and profound works that were influenced by each composer’s particular faith. The performance will begin with two harp solos by Johann Sebastian Bach: Bourrée’s Double from Violin Partita No. 1, transcribed by Marcel Grandjany, and Gavotte en Rondeau from Suite BWV 1006a. Following the harp solos, a wind octet with percussion will perform Arvo Pärt’s Fratres, arranged by Beat Briner. The piece can best be described with the word “tintinnabuli” which is defined as relating to bells or the ringing of bells.

“What I find most interesting is the way that music provides a window into the soul of how each composer thinks and feels about the divine,” Johnson notes. “J.S. Bach, for example, seems to find great beauty in order and form whereas Arvo Pärt seems to find his solace and inspiration in the cathedral like space that his music creates.”

The concert’s first half will conclude with two arrangements for trombone octet: Franz Biebl’s popular and notable Ave Maria, arranged by Royce Lumpkin and Giovanni Gabrieli’s Sonata Pian e Forte, arranged by Eric Crees. Both arrangements fall into the long tradition of the trombone’s association with sacred music.

The performance’s second half will feature Olivier Messiaen’s deeply profound Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time). Messiaen composed the entire piece while a prisoner of war during World War II and performed the work for the first time in Stalag 8-A with three fellow inmates. The eight movement quartet was inspired by several verses in the tenth chapter from the Book of Revelation in the Bible and, as Messiaen himself said, the work will “draw the listener into a sense of the eternity of space and time.”

Complete program and notes

Directions and parking

Unit News Search